Dallas County Council of Republican Women
In Memoriam
Legislarive Update
GOP Links
Political advertising paid for by Dallas County Council of Republican Women PAC, Kerry Gaines, Treasurer
11617 N. Central Expressway #240, Dallas, Texas 75243
A Tax Exempt Organization under section 527 of the Internal Revenue Code.
Contributions to DCCRW PAC are not tax deductible as charitable contributions for Federal Income Tax purposes.
Corporate contributions are not permitted. Not authorized by any candidate or committee.

Difficulty with this website? Contact the webmaster.

In Memoriam

Jan Patterson

Jan received a BS Degree from the University of Nebraska and also attended Beloit College.  She lettered in swimming at Beloit. She worked as a teacher in Dallas to put her husband Jay through SMU law school and then became a full time mother and homemaker and later a political consultant. 

She served on the Dallas Plan Commission, chaired the Texas Board on Aging and served as a member of the Dallas Health and Human Services Commission, the Dallas County Youth Services Board, the Women's Council of Dallas County, attended the White House Conference on Aging as a delegate in 1995 and served as a delegate to the White House Conference on Families in 1980. She was a member of Lake Highlands Women's League. 

Jan served as President of the Texas Federation of Republican Women (TFRW), 1990-91 and served as President of the Dallas County Council of Republican Women's Clubs, President of the Lake Highlands Republican Women's Club and received the TFRW Ten Outstanding Award in 1985. She also served as an Alternate Delegate to the 1992 Republican National Convention.

At the Executive Board meeting of the Lake Highlands Republican Women, held February 11, 2015, it was unanimously approved that the Annual Scholarship awarded to Senior members of the Lake Highlands High School Young Republicans Club be renamed and designated as the Jan Patterson Memorial Scholarship.

Ethyel Stallings
“Let nothing stand in the way”

Ethyel Stallings, Founder - First Republican Women’s Club, Dallas, Texas, is known for her stalwart and lifelong dedication to Republican Principles. Growing up in a Democratic household, mother of four children and pregnant with her fifth, she marched door to door in Casa Linda pulling her children in the little red wagon to gather enough signatures to create Dallas' first Republican Precinct.

Ethyel Stallings founded the forerunner to First Republican Women’s Club in 1952, and continued to encourage women to keep Republican Women's clubs healthy and our country strong.

The Ethyel Stallings Founder's Award, adopted December 17, 2012 as a Standing Rule of First Republican Women, is to honor one outstanding FRW member who has consistently and continuously supported the Republican Party, our candidates, and our goals, objectives and values year after year.

This page is dedicated to our Founders, Leaders, Pioneers, and Role Models -- often all wrapped up in one energetic woman.  They have built the foundations of the republican women's clubs in Dallas county, have nurtured the campaigns of Republican candidates with countless volunteer hours, and they continue to inspire us.

If there is a former member of your club who you believe should be included on this page, please contact us here.
Jan Woody

Jan attended Northwestern University in Evanston, IL where she received a B.A. in History and English. She then went on to the University of North Texas where she received her Master of Library and Information Science degree. Jan was elected to the Board of Dallas County Schools in May, 2005. She chose to not run for reelection and recruited Dr. Paul Freeman to replace her on the Dallas County School board. In her work with Dallas County Schools she was elected to Chair of the Technology Committee. She was also elected representative to the North Texas Council of Governments and elected by the school board trustees in Region 10 to the Texas Association of School Boards Legislative Advisory Committee. Jan participated in many activities spanning three decades from Christ United Methodist Church.

She won volunteer of the year award three times in the Farmers Branch Women's Club from 1990 to the present. In 2004 she won the volunteer award for her participation on the Garland Asian American Festival committee where she worked as co-chair of entertainment and worked on the underwriting committee. She was a Texas Certified Teacher, and taught secondary school for several years. She organized a Town Hall on Crime and Drugs in Farmers Branch in 1990. She worked with teens through Suicide and Crisis hotline going into the schools to talk with teens and volunteered as a hotline counselor with Contact Dallas for 13 years.

Jan's political resume stretches from 1994 until the present. Janine has served as precinct chairman since 1994 and has walked her precinct before every Primary and General Election. She served as Headquarters Chairman of the Dallas County Republican Party for about ten years. She was in charge of ballot security, helped start Republican clubs, and recruited precinct chairs, among other tasks.

Ruth Potter

Ruth was the longest serving precinct chairman in Dallas, County, president of DCCRW, co-founder of the
White Rock Republican Women’s Club that lasted for 60 years where she continued to serve on the board. As long as there were some printed materials in a bag for several candidates, Ruth would cover her precinct, going door to door and leaving the campaign information at every door. Ruth also served on the TFRW Board, but I’m not sure in what capacities.

There was not a Republican candidate in the primary or general election in Dallas County from the 50’s thru 2010 that didn’t know Ruth Potter. We all will remember Ruth for her famous “coffee punch” that she brought to many Republican functions and meetings, along with her sugared cranberries and other wonderful homemade goodies.

Ruth passed away in March 2014.